top of page
  • openspaceliteraryj

Like a Curse

his voice resonates

across the pages

raging with a passion

forget i knew


his whispers echo

across the metaphors

killing time with a simile

words: his only truth


his anger screamed

pushing readers to limits

of swallowed emotions

dreamt nightmares


his hands caressed

pushing on to mine

forcing me to annotate

love: bind heart’s tears


Marlena Marie


Marlena Marie was born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA. She has a BSBA and a BA from The Ohio State University. Currently, she is pursuing a MLitt in Creative Writing at The University of Glasgow. She has worked on a variety of stage plays and indie films including, Forbidden Zones: The Great War and ‘memoir. She currently resides in Glasgow, Scotland.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I WAS ONCE THERE

every time there is a chance to talk every time the opportunity arises all I do is show no interest but calmly listen when the topic is of importance though it still ends with "I was once there." moth

DEAR GOD

(Name) (Address) Year 20** Dear God, HOLDING ONTO YOU Introducing myself isn't necessary because you knew me before I was even in my mother's womb. There are so many things I want to tell you. Althoug

Sorrow

Words dry up on these lips more often The things that kept these eyes open no longer do This heart has quit being attentive The child within has gone for a journey Nature’s beauty does not fluster thi

bottom of page