top of page
  • openspaceliteraryj

Sorrow

Words dry up on these lips more often

The things that kept these eyes open no longer do

This heart has quit being attentive

The child within has gone for a journey

Nature’s beauty does not fluster this heart anymore

The presence of people is a burden to this being

To speak is torture to this soul

The feet of joy have gone a thousand miles away

Alas there is no sharing this toil and travail

Drain, drain, go away,

A sickness of the mind this maybe.

See, see, how the feet of hope hurries away.

Dust to dust, this mortal shall soon be gone.


Blessing Olaoluwaniyi




Blessing is a student of the University of Lagos and enjoys creativity in both forms of art and writing. She loves to journal, expressing herself through both poetry and fiction. Blessing finds home in exploring themes of hurt and sadness.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I WAS ONCE THERE

every time there is a chance to talk every time the opportunity arises all I do is show no interest but calmly listen when the topic is of importance though it still ends with "I was once there." moth

DEAR GOD

(Name) (Address) Year 20** Dear God, HOLDING ONTO YOU Introducing myself isn't necessary because you knew me before I was even in my mother's womb. There are so many things I want to tell you. Althoug

What You Are

you are the silence you are the crossword that shoes in the room completed too soon you are the voice you are the book just felt in the air that still marks your place y

bottom of page