top of page
  • openspaceliteraryj

I WAS ONCE THERE

every time there is a chance to talk

every time the opportunity arises

all I do is show no interest

but calmly listen

when the topic is of importance

though it still ends with

"I was once there."


mother speaks of the old days

father speaks of the future

all we have to do is to watch and pray

for then only is the future sure

and it all boils down to

"We were once there."


Had I listened to Mothers' tales of old

I would have learned a lot for the present

Had I listened to Fathers' talk

It would have been so translucent

Would my children listen closely?

Will history not repeat itself?

I now speak the same words I disliked hearing

'I was once there.'



Author: Moboluwaji Alo.

Bio: I am an individual passionately inclined to write and learn as well. I love to read and write both fictional and biographical write-ups, I love to sing and listen to music. All of these make me who I am and they help me not to be held down by any situation whatsoever.

LinkedIn - Alo Moboluwaji Facebook - Alo Moboluwaji Instagram - @bolwajai WordPress - powerofanewmind.wordpress.com

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

DEAR GOD

(Name) (Address) Year 20** Dear God, HOLDING ONTO YOU Introducing myself isn't necessary because you knew me before I was even in my mother's womb. There are so many things I want to tell you. Althoug

GRIEF

I sit beneath the weeping tree, alone With Grief, my hated friend, who makes me cry For life no more, commanding that I rage and moan At cruel Fate, who willed my love to die. Much hated Grief that te

bottom of page