top of page
  • openspaceliteraryj

GRIEF

I sit beneath the weeping tree, alone

With Grief, my hated friend, who makes me cry

For life no more, commanding that I rage and moan

At cruel Fate, who willed my love to die.

Much hated Grief that tears my soul to shreds

In shards of pain, like glass that pierces deep

The unwitting foot that on it lightly treads,

So tears like blood in silent torrents weep.

But friendly Grief that brings him still to mind

His face still seen, though now not lined with pain,

White head not bowed and eyes no longer blind

In joyous youth he strides to me again.

Fresh Grief from Love’s encircling womb is torn

While Joy gestates till Time bids it be born.


Anonymous

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I WAS ONCE THERE

every time there is a chance to talk every time the opportunity arises all I do is show no interest but calmly listen when the topic is of importance though it still ends with "I was once there." moth

DEAR GOD

(Name) (Address) Year 20** Dear God, HOLDING ONTO YOU Introducing myself isn't necessary because you knew me before I was even in my mother's womb. There are so many things I want to tell you. Althoug

bottom of page