top of page
  • openspaceliteraryj

GRIEF IS A STEEL BLADE OR THE NAME FOR EVERYTHING THAT BREAKS A BOY

in between walls that keep strangling my portrait,


i'm a boy on a sleeveless errand, a futile journey,


or an extended metaphor for serial rejection & failure.


my days hinge on the broken wings of a bird in agony.


grief is a name for everything that breaks a boy:


into syllables, into a yodel with fluctuating falsettos


in the mouth of a widow, into the last flickers of light


from a dying flame. tonight, i'm a trapped nightingale


learning to sing a new guttural song. for hooked fish


gasping for breath never wag its tail in mirth.


life is but a scary nightmare of a lost paradise.


living is a mere hallucination of allegorical images.


death is a threshold leading to elysium — my long


awaited messiah. take me into your arms of darkness


— enwrap me in a golden sepulchre. lead me


on a pilgrimage in a chariot of white horses racing home.


JAMIU AHMED is a Lagos-based Nigerian Writer and Blogger. He has several works featured and forthcoming on digital literary platforms such as Eboquills, Poemify, The Quills, The Consio Magazine, The Mexodus, Artmosterrific & elsewhere. His writings have also performed well in competitions organised by Poets in Nigeria (PIN) and Word Rhymes and Rhythm.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I WAS ONCE THERE

every time there is a chance to talk every time the opportunity arises all I do is show no interest but calmly listen when the topic is of importance though it still ends with "I was once there." moth

DEAR GOD

(Name) (Address) Year 20** Dear God, HOLDING ONTO YOU Introducing myself isn't necessary because you knew me before I was even in my mother's womb. There are so many things I want to tell you. Althoug

GRIEF

I sit beneath the weeping tree, alone With Grief, my hated friend, who makes me cry For life no more, commanding that I rage and moan At cruel Fate, who willed my love to die. Much hated Grief that te

bottom of page